## THE VIRGINIA BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK AD HOC COMMITTEE ON STANDARDS OF PRACTICE

## **DRAFT MINUTES**

## **JANUARY 28, 2005**

The Virginia Board of Social Work Ad Hoc Committee on Standards of Practice met on Friday, January 28, 2005 at the Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia. Ms. Sharon Ekleberry, Chair, called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

**COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT:** Sharon C. Ekleberry, LCSW, Bd. Member

David R. Boehm, LCSW, Bd. Member Wayne A. Martin, LCSW, Bd. Member Debra Riggs, NASW Representative

Sharon Payne, Virginia Society for Clinical

Social Work Representative

Michael Kubat, Virginia Society for Clinical

Social Work Representative

**COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT:** Fredrick Weston, LCSW, Bd. Member Ex

Officio

**STAFF PRESENT:** Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director

Benjamin Foster, Deputy Executive Director Arnice Covington, Administrative Assistant Elaine Yeatts, Agency Senior Policy Analyst

**PUBLIC COMMENT:** None

The Committee discussed revisions of 18 VAC 140-20-150 Professional conduct, 18 VAC 140-20-160 Grounds for disciplinary action or denial of issuance of a license, and 18 VAC 140-20-170 Reinstatement following disciplinary action of the Board of Social Work Regulations.

Using proposed standard of practice regulations for the Board of Counseling as well as current standards of practice regulations for the Board of Psychology as well as standards of practice for various counseling associations and organizations the Committee made changes to existing Board of Social Work Regulations.

The Committee went through the current regulations line by line proposing changes that bring these regulations into line with current language, ideology, and practices of social work boards and organizations across the country.

The Ad Hoc Committee will present these suggested changes to the full Board at the February 25, 2005 meeting. The Committee will also recommend that the Board issue a PreNOIRA to begin the regulatory process necessary to make these changes to current regulation.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:20 p.m.